Are you a California worker whose employment rights have been violated?
California labor law protects the rights of employees to fair wages and proper working conditions. Employers who break these laws face stiff penalties and in most cases must compensate employees for these violations.
If you were subject to any of the following California employment law violations within the past 2 to 3 years, you have rights – and you don’t have to take on the company alone. Complete the form on this page for a free and confidential case evaluation by a California labor law attorney to see if you have a claim.
Missed Meals & Breaks
Donning & Doffing
California Labor Laws: Overtime
California overtime law requires employers to pay overtime at a rate of one and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay for every hour worked beyond 8 hours in a single day or 40 hours in a single week. State law also requires:
One and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay for the first 8 hours worked on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek; and
Double the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 12 hours in any workday and for all hours worked in excess of eight on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek.
California break laws entitle nonexempt employees to a 30-minute off-duty lunch break if they work more than 5 hours in a workday, and 10-minute breaks every 4 hours worked. A second 30-minute meal break must be provided if an employee works more than 10 hours.
California lunch break law also requires that employers do the following during the meal period:
Relieve employee of all duty.
Relinquish control over the employee’s activities.
Permit them a reasonable opportunity to take an uninterrupted 30-minute break.
Does not impede or discourage the employee from doing so.
In certain circumstances, an on-duty meal period is allowed if it meets the following conditions:
The nature of the work prevents an employee from being relieved of all duty.
It was agreed to in writing by the employee.
It must be paid.
It can be revoked at any time in writing by the employee, except under Wage Order 14 (Agricultural Occupations).
California break laws provide the following protections for workers:
Missed Meal Break: For each workday that you were not provided a meal period, as required, your employee must pay you one additional hour of pay at your regular rate. You have up to three years to claim unpaid wages.
Missed Rest Break: If a rest break is not given, you are owed one hour of pay, which must be included in the next paycheck.
Federal and state labor laws prohibit employers from allowing employees to do off-the-clock work without pay – whether they know about the work or should have known about it, or whether the work was required or not. This includes preshift and postshift duties, including time waiting for work.
Join a Free Class Action Lawsuit Investigation
Work laws in California are some of the most generous in the country, but they can also be difficult to navigate. Speaking with a California labor law attorney can help you determine if you meet the requirements to seek backpay of unpaid overtime, minimum wage, missed lunch breaks, or more. Obtain a free case evaluation from one and see if you qualify to join a class action lawsuit against an offending company by filling out the form at the top of this page now.
This investigation impacts California employees only. If you reside outside of California, please click here to submit your information to an employment attorney in your state.
GET HELP – IT’S FREE
JOIN A FREE CALIFORNIA WAGE & HOUR CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT INVESTIGATION
If you qualify, a California labor law attorney will contact you to discuss the details of your potential case at no charge to you.
If you do NOT live in California, click here to join a class action lawsuit investigation in your state.
Please Note: If you want to participate in this investigation, it is imperative that you reply to the law firm if they call or email you. Failing to do so may result in you not getting signed up as a client, if you potentially qualify, or getting you dropped as a client.